In-Depth Guide to ITIL certification

3 Mins read


The IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL) provides best practices for IT services delivered through a structured method to IT service management (ITSM).  For a good reason, the ITIL certification is a must-have IT credential considered at the top of nearly every list.  Being an IT management plan, ITIL can assist organizations in managing risk, strengthening customer relationships, establishing cost-effective practices, and having a sustainable IT environment that enables development, scalability, and transformation.

The ITIL framework is a collection of comprehensive practices that aims to align IT services with industry best practices.  ITIL concepts are vendor agnostic and are utilized for two purposes: increasing IT staff productivity and lowering IT operations expenses.  It has long been the standard framework for IT service management (ITSM).  It is a go-to resource for all ITIL certifications.  Thus, possessing an ITIL certification is a good option if you work in IT support. 

Exam for ITIL certification

To issue certificates, ITIL employs what is known as an “ITIL credit system.” ITIL and associated qualifications are all assigned distinct “credit values.” As credits are awarded at every level, a candidate proceeds to the next step of certification.  To be awarded the “ITIL expert certification,” a total of 22 points are necessary.

The multiple levels of ITIL certification concentrate on distinct aspects of ITIL best practices.  The five stages of ITIL certification are as follows:

  • ITIL Foundation Level

This is the entry-level certification.  It focuses on a broad understanding of the core aspects, the fundamentals of ITIL ideas, key terminology used in the ITIL service lifecycle, and their significance to service management strategies.

The foundation level is intended for individuals – Who wants to obtain a basic grasp of the ITIL framework and Who wants to learn how ITIL can be used to improve IT service management.

The foundation level comprises 40 multiple-choice questions, and applicants who pass the level receive 2 credits.  A threshold of 65 per cent (26/40) would assist you in obtaining certification.  The foundation level is a closed book test with no prerequisites.  Anybody with a passion for IT service management can take the test.

  • ITIL Practitioner level

The ITIL practitioner level is the second phase in the certification process.  This stage focuses on bridging the gap between the foundation and intermediate levels.  The practitioner level’s major goal is to provide IT professionals with the competence to implement ITIL frameworks in their business.  Building on best practices from various frameworks like DevOps, Agile, and Lean, an ITIL practitioner brings value to any IT service management improvement endeavor.

The practitioner level, like the foundation level, comprises 40 multiple choice questions that must be solved in 135 minutes.  A lower limit of 70 per cent (28/40) ensures that you pass this level.  It is an open book test, as opposed to the first level.  Completing this level will get you 3 credits.

ITIL Intermediate Level

Every intermediate ITIL certification section concentrates on a distinct component of service management.  You have the option of taking as many or even as few intermediate certifications as you like.  You may mix and combine modules from both categories depending on what you want to retrieve from the module.

The intermediate level awards 15 or 16 credit points based on the modules you choose.  This level is only available to persons who have passed the ITIL foundation test and have completed a certified training course from an ITIL accredited organization.

  • ITIL Expert level

There are certain significant prerequisites for obtaining an ITIL expert certification.

  • The applicant should have taken an ITIL foundation or bridge certification exam.
  • The candidate must achieve a baseline of 17 credits between the foundation and intermediate ITIL courses.
  • The managing throughout the lifetime (MALC) module should’ve been completed to earn a total of 22 credits, the minimum need for ITIL expert certification.


  • ITIL Master Level

Every ITIL master applicant must exhibit successful implementation projects in ITIL-related tasks from their place of employment.  Axelos, the creators of ITIL frameworks, does not have fixed/prescribed Axelos courses or Axelos training.  According to the Axelos website, “you must guarantee you have substantial practical ‘hands-on’ ITIL expertise and can demonstrate active engagement in practice implementation.”

ITIL training for certification

There are various ways of training for an ITIL certification.  If you are acquainted with ITIL v4 and feel confident self-studying for the test, you may access study resources and sample examinations on Axelos’ website.  Organizations may also hire ITIL trainers to come in and teach employees, allowing them to become certified in-house.  But if you’re new to ITIL or need a refresher, the Axelos website can help you find authorized training providers.  Several firms provide courses online and in-person training.

More about ITIL Certification

Those who have earned an Expert level ITIL certification are eligible for the transitioning module and test, which will get you qualified in ITIL 4.  Points from ITIL 3 modules and tests will transition to the ITIL 4 certification system for people who do not have an Expert level certification.

Along with ITIL 4, Axelos has established My ITIL, an online networking platform that links applicants with industry experts’ books, tools, templates, and insights.  Your ITIL foundation test includes a one-year membership to My ITIL, which offers you access to resources and material related to your ITIL training, such as – ITIL manuals and templates, white papers, professional development planning with CPD tools, or a digital badge for your ITIL Foundation qualification.

90 posts

About author
With a rich experience of more than four years in advanced marketing and promotional strategies, she has mastered the techniques of Digital Marketing. From working with some of the top-ranking agencies to sharing her knowledge to help others, she makes sure to incorporate her learning in everything she does.
Related posts

Role Of AI In A Successful Remote Work Strategy

3 Mins read
The working environment has evolved due to the havoc wreaked by the COVID 19 outbreak and a growing number of organizations permitting…

Benefits and advantages of ISO Certification

3 Mins read
Organizations that adhere to ISO standards are able to conduct their key business operations more efficiently. For any firm to survive in…

Digital Marketing for Beginners in Dubai

3 Mins read
Of all the marketing strategies, digital marketing has experienced massive popularity in recent years. Most businesses in Dubai are now incorporating digital…
Power your team with InHype
[mc4wp_form id="17"]

Add some text to explain benefits of subscripton on your services.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.